ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics, Berlin


+++ Application Deadline: July 1, 2020 +++

 

Please note: The English translation exclusively serves informational purposes; solely the German version is binding.

 

As a special announcement in the Scholarships & Residencies program in 2020 and in cooperation with ZK/U – Center for Art and Urbanistics, Musicboard will grant a two-month residency at ZK/U Berlin in Berlin-Moabit to a Berlin pop musician, duo or group/band.

 

CONDITIONS

  • Groups/bands, duos or solo artists living and working in Berlin can apply. The artists’ country of origin is irrelevant. Applicants should be pop musicians who work professionally and stand out through their special creative achievements.
  • Pop musicians of all genres may apply. With the term “pop music”, Musicboard refers to all genres of popular music as well as cross-genre or experimental pop music that cannot be clearly assigned to the categories of jazz or classical and new music.
  • The residency is aimed at musicians who actively/artistically deal with social issues along the ZK/U Berlin discourses and work in an interdisciplinary way.
  • Presence of the resident(s) in Berlin during the residency period is required, participation in the OPENHAUS format on August 29 and 30, 2020 is requested. A minimum studio presence of 20-30 hours per week at ZK/U Berlin is a further requirement.

 

TIMEFRAME

Two months from August 1 to September 30, 2020.

 

Photo: ZK/U Berlin

 

ABOUT ZK/U BERLIN

Located in the former railway depot in Berlin-Moabit and run by the artist collective KUNSTrePUBLIK, ZK/U Berlin is a production site, artist/research-residency and program platform. In addition to public spaces, ZK/U Berlin offers 13 studio apartments for local and international artists, urban researchers and practitioners.

ZK/U Berlin seeks to develop projects, co-produce knowledge and share values created through exchange. Its work is not oriented towards results but towards the process: Instead of letting the “final product” constrain the possible routes that a practice might take, ZK/U Berlin focuses on the processes that come from, and feed into, the particular contexts of the fellows’ practice. As a “glocal” residency program, ZK/U Berlin connects local practice and global discourse.

 

RESIDENCY DETAILS

The residency program of ZK/U Berlin offers an active-collaborative atmosphere in which artists, researchers and practitioners meet and work on individual or collaborative projects and ideas.

Residents are provided with a studio apartment (studio with living space) at ZK/U Berlin. The use of this studio as a living space during the residency is desired, but optional.

In regular formats for mutual exchange, such as the weekly Monday Dinner and the OPENHAUS (August 29 and 30, 2020), the residents have the opportunity to present their work and discuss it with the audience. In addition to their active involvement within the social structure of ZK/U Berlin, the residents are encouraged to use the local infrastructure and actively promote cultural production through setting up own formats, such as workshops, film screenings, discussions or reading groups. Monthly studio visits by curators and artists can also provide feedback on the working process.

Note: Due to the current situation caused by the corona pandemic, protective measures based on the recommendations of the Berlin Senate are adhered to at ZK/U Berlin. This may partially restrict the program.

There is no recording studio in the building and only limited technical equipment is available. However, ZK/U Berlin offers various spaces that can possibly be used by the residents. Furthermore, ZK/U Berlin provides support in the online and local promotion of project presentations.

Note on accessibility: the studio that is available for the Musicboard resident(s) is located on the 1st floor, there is no elevator. The studio is therefore not barrier-free.

 

MUSICBOARD’S CONTRIBUTIONS

  • covering the rent for a studio with accommodation at ZK/U Berlin
  • monthly stipend in the amount of 1.500 EUR for solo artists / 2.000 EUR for duos/groups (living and project costs)
  • singular contribution to material costs in the amount of 320 EUR

 

APPLICATION

Application Deadline
The application deadline for the residency at ZK/U Berlin is July 1, 2020 (00:00 in the night leading into July 2).

Selection Process
The residency is awarded through the Musicboard Berlin GmbH upon recommendation of an independent jury of Berlin-based pop experts as well as representatives of ZK/U Berlin.

The jury will make a recommendation based on the quality of the work and the chances for success of the project presented. There is no entitlement to claim a subsidy.

The funding decisions are made with an eye to representing the diversity of Berlin’s music scene. Accordingly, Musicboard and the jury attach great value to inclusion and gender balance in their selection.

Application Documents
The following application documents for the Scholarships & Residencies Program must be submitted online only:

  • Completed Application Form
  • Detailed description of the artistic project and motivation for applying
    When applicable, this may be supplemented by a description of project partners and confirmation letters acknowledging upcoming collaborations.
  • Detailed overview of professional artistic history
    Including proof of performances, collaborations with other artists/musicians, etc. (e.g. in the form of web links, graphic documents or screenshots).
  • Work samples: please choose 3 tracks that characterize your work best
    These must be submitted as mp3’s (no list of links and no physical recordings please) and uploaded directly into the online application.
  • Scans of proof of Berlin residency by the registration office or personal ID
    For duos and bands, please submit documents for each member. For citizens of non-EU countries, please also submit scans of passport, residence permit, duration of stay, and type of work permit. IMPORTANT: Berlin must be clearly evident as place of residence!

Application Language
All application documents may be submitted in either German or English.

Exclusion
Members of the jury or employees of the Senate of Berlin or of Musicboard Berlin GmbH and their dependents may not apply.

Other Information
Only fully completed documents can be processed and considered. All information will be treated confidentially and will be used exclusively for decision-making and funding purposes. The allocation of funding is subject to current Corona constraints.

 

LINK TO ONLINE FORM

Apply here: Link to Online-Application

 

CONTACT

Please contact Maureen Noe with questions about the Scholarships & Residencies program:

ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik, Berlin

Das Musicboard vergibt 2020 als besondere Ausschreibung im Programm Stipendien & Residenzen und in Kooperation mit dem ZK/U – Zentrum für Kunst und Urbanistik eine zweimonatige Residenz im ZK/U Berlin in Moabit an eine*n Berliner Musiker*in, Duo oder Gruppe/Band aus dem popkulturellen Bereich.

 

 

VORAUSSETZUNGEN

  • Antragsberechtigt sind Gruppen/Bands, Duos oder Solokünstler*innen mit Wohnort und Schaffensmittelpunkt in Berlin. Das Herkunftsland spielt dabei keine Rolle. Bewerben können sich Popmusiker*innen, die durch besondere kreative Leistungen hervortreten und professionell arbeiten.
  • Offen für Popmusiker*innen aller Genres. Unter Popmusik versteht das Musicboard alle Genres der populären Musik sowie genreübergreifende oder experimentelle Popmusik, die nicht klar den Sparten Klassik, Jazz oder Neue Musik zugeordnet werden kann.
  • Die Residenz richtet sich an Musiker*innen die sich aktiv/künstlerisch mit gesellschaftlichen Fragen entlang der inhaltlichen Diskurse des ZK/U Berlin auseinandersetzen und interdisziplinär arbeiten.
  • Die Präsenz des*der Resident*in/nen während des Residenzzeitraums in Berlin ist erforderlich, eine Teilnahme am Format OPENHAUS am 29. und 30. August 2020 erwünscht. Es wird zudem eine minimale Studio-Präsenzzeit von 20-30 Stunden pro Woche im ZK/U Berlin vorausgesetzt.

 

ZEITLICHER RAHMEN

Zwei Monate vom 01. August bis 30. September 2020.

 

Foto: ZK/U Berlin

 

ÜBER DAS ZK/U BERLIN

Beheimatet im ehemaligen Güterbahnhof in Berlin-Moabit und betrieben vom Künstlerkollektiv KUNSTrePUBLIK, ist das ZK/U Berlin ein Ort der Kunstproduktion, eine Künstler*innen- und Forscher*innen-Residenz und eine Programmplattform. Neben öffentlichen Räumen bietet das ZK/U Berlin 13 Atelierwohnungen für lokale und internationale Künstler*innen, Stadtforscher*innen und andere Aktive.

Das ZK/U Berlin strebt an, Projekte zu entwickeln, gemeinsam Wissen zu produzieren und die durch Austausch entstandenen Werte zu teilen. Es arbeitet dabei prozess- und nicht ergebnisorientiert: Anstatt das „Endprodukt“ die möglichen Handlungsoptionen einschränken zu lassen, konzentriert sich das ZK/U Berlin auf die Prozesse, die aus den jeweiligen Kontexten der Praxis der Resident*innen entstehen. Als „glokales“ Residenzprogramm verbindet das ZK/U Berlin lokales Schaffen mit globalen Diskursen.

 

BESONDERHEITEN

Das Residenzprogramm des ZK/U Berlin bietet eine aktiv-kollaborative Atmosphäre, in der sich Künstler*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Praktiker*innen treffen und an individuellen oder kollaborativen Projekten und Ideen arbeiten.

Den Resident*innen wird im ZK/U Berlin eine Atelierwohnung (Studio mit Wohnmöglichkeit) zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Nutzung dieses Studios als Wohnraum während der Residenz ist erwünscht, aber optional.

In regelmäßigen Formaten für den gemeinsamen Austausch, wie dem wöchentlichen Monday Dinner und dem OPENHAUS (29. und 30. August 2020), bietet sich den Resident*innen die Möglichkeit ihre Arbeit vorzustellen und mit dem Publikum zu diskutieren. Neben dem aktiven Engagement innerhalb des ZK/U Berlin werden die Bewohner*innen dazu ermutigt, die lokale Infrastruktur zu nutzen und die Kulturproduktion mit eigenen Formaten, wie Workshops, Filmvorführungen, Diskussionen oder Lesegruppen aktiv zu fördern. Monatliche Studiobesuche von Kurator*innen und Künstler*innen ermöglichen zudem Feedback zum Arbeitsprozess.

Hinweis: Aufgrund der aktuellen, durch die Corona-Pandemie bedingten Situation werden im ZK/U Berlin Schutzmaßnahmen in Anlehnung an die Empfehlungen des Berliner Senats eingehalten, das öffentliche Programm ist dadurch teilweise eingeschränkt.

Im Haus befindet sich kein Tonstudio und es ist nur begrenzt technisches Equipment verfügbar. Das ZK/U Berlin bietet jedoch diverse Räumlichkeiten, die in Absprache von den Resident*innen genutzt werden können. Zudem bietet das ZK/U Berlin Unterstützung in der Online- und lokalen Promotion von Projektpräsentationen.

Hinweis zur Barrierefreiheit: Das verfügbare Studio liegt im 1. Stock, es ist kein Aufzug vorhanden. Es ist damit nicht barrierefrei zugänglich.

 

LEISTUNGEN DES MUSICBOARDS

  • Übernahme der Miete für ein Atelier mit Wohnmöglichkeit im ZK/U Berlin
  • monatl. Stipendium in Höhe von 1.500 EUR für Solokünstler*innen / 2.000 EUR für Duos/Gruppen (für Lebenshaltungs- und Projektkosten)
  • einmaliger Sachkostenzuschuss in Höhe von 320 EUR

 

BEWERBUNG

Antragsfrist
Die Bewerbungsfrist für die Inlandsresidenz im ZK/U Berlin ist der 01. Juli 2020 – Mitternacht (00:00 Uhr in der Nacht zum 2. Juli 2020).

Auswahlverfahren
Die Residenz wird durch die Musicboard Berlin GmbH vergeben und durch eine unabhängige Jury aus Berliner Popexpert*innen sowie Vertreter*innen des ZK/U Berlin empfohlen.

Die Jury empfiehlt nach Qualität der Arbeit und Erfolgschancen des vorgestellten Vorhabens. Es besteht kein Anspruch auf Förderung.

Bei den Förderentscheidungen wird in besonderem Maße darauf geachtet die Diversität der Berliner Musikszene abzubilden. Dabei legen das Musicboard und die Jury großen Wert auf Inklusion und ein ausgewogenes Geschlechterverhältnis.

Bewerbungsunterlagen
Folgende Bewerbungsunterlagen müssen ausschließlich online eingereicht werden:

  • Ausgefülltes Antragsformular
  • Ausführliche Darstellung des künstlerischen Vorhabens und Motivation
    Ggf. zu ergänzen mit Beschreibung von Projektpartner*innen und Bestätigungsschreiben der Zusammenarbeit.
  • Darstellung des künstlerischen Werdegangs
    Inkl. Nachweise über Auftritte, die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstler*innen o.ä. (z.B. in Form von Weblinks, grafischen Belegen oder Screenshots).
  • Arbeitsprobe bestehend aus drei aussagekräftigen Tracks
    Einzureichen als mp3-Datei (keine Linksammlung, keine physischen Tonträger). Diese müssen direkt im Online-Formular hochgeladen werden.
  • Scan der Meldebescheinigung oder des Personalausweises
    Bei Duos/Bands bitte Bescheinigung von jedem Mitglied einreichen. Für Staatsangehörige aus Nicht-EU-Ländern: zusätzlich ein Scan des Passes, inklusive der Blätter zu Aufenthaltstitel, Aufenthaltsdauer und erlaubter Tätigkeit einreichen. WICHTIG: Der Wohnort Berlin muss erkennbar sein!

Antragssprache
Alle Antragsunterlagen können auf Deutsch oder Englisch eingereicht werden.

Ausschluss
Mitglieder der Jury sowie Mitarbeiter*innen des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin oder der Musicboard Berlin GmbH und deren Angehörige sind von der Antragstellung ausgeschlossen.

Sonstige Hinweise
Nur vollständige Unterlagen können bearbeitet bzw. berücksichtigt werden. Alle Angaben werden vertraulich behandelt und dienen ausschließlich Entscheidungs- bzw. Förderungszwecken. Die Vergabe erfolgt vorbehaltlich der aktuellen Corona-Situation.

 

LINK ZUM ONLINE-ANTRAG

Die Antragszeitraum für die Inlandsresidenz im ZK/U Berlin endete am 1. Juli 2020. Derzeit ist leider keine Bewerbung möglich.

 

KONTAKT

Bei Fragen zum Residenzprogramm wendet Euch gerne an Maureen Noe: