Nyege Nyege Studios, Kampala, Uganda

In cooperation with CTM Festival and Nyege Nyege, Musicboard Berlin will award a Berlin-based pop musician with a hybrid music residency abroad in Kampala, Uganda.


Conditions

Intended for a solo artist living and working in Berlin. Pop musicians of all genres are encouraged to apply, though the residency is best suited for musicians working in electronic, club, and experimental styles. Applicants should show a high degree of independence and initiative, and should be open to interdisciplinary exchange and digital collaboration.

Timeframe
The residency is planned in a hybrid format. The stay in Kampala is up to two months between July and September 2021, preceded by a digital exchange beforehand. The exact time frame can be coordinated between the cooperating partners and the selected artist.


Photo: Nyege Nyege Festival

About the Project Partners
Berlin’s CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art and East Africa’s Nyege Nyege platform are both partners in the international network ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound. The cooperation between the two partners began in 2018, when CTM presented a number of musicians from the Nyege Nyege family at its festival in Berlin. The residency cooperation with Musicboard Berlin has been in place since 2019, in 2020 the tender was paused.

Nyege Nyege is a four-day festival that takes place the first weekend of September in Jinja, Uganda, at the source of the Nile. Since 2015, Nyege Nyege has been presenting new players in the African underground music scene as well as international musicians. With seven stages and about 8,000 visitors per day, it is the largest music festival in East Africa. In addition to the festival, Nyege Nyege organises a one-year artist residency programme in Kampala and Gulu, Uganda as well as Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, with community studios, workshops, and educational opportunities. These residencies offer a secure and creative environment for East African musicians. Some of the music produced in the residencies is released on the organisation’s two labels, Nyege Nyege Tapes and Hakuna Kulala. In 2020, due to the pandemic, Nyege Nyege presented a hybrid version of the festival featuring artist collectives from across the continent and throughout the diaspora, which morphed into a permanent content platform hosted by the Nyege Nyege website.

Residency Details
The 2021 edition of the residency follows a hybrid format: The residency will start with a digital collaboration that will transition into an on-site residency in Kampala. If travel is not possible due to the dynamic Covid-19 situation, the residency will continue as a digital collaboration.

The on-site part of the residency takes place in a green suburb of Kampala, called Kawuku. Thanks to the initiative of the Boutiq Foundation, Nyege Nyege operates a large residency house just five minutes from Victoria Lake that can accommodate up to ten musicians at a time. It has a large kitchen suited for group cooking as well as two of its own recording studios. The idea of the residency house is to promote unique exchange and collaboration between musicians from East Africa and musicians from Berlin. In this sense, the residency is committed to the cooperation between Berlin residents and local musicians. The results of this collaboration will be presented at the Nyege Nyege Festival 2021, live or digitally, to conclude the residency. There is also the possibility of the presentation of these collaborative productions at the 2022 edition of CTM Festival in Berlin.

This residency is particularly suited for musicians who take joy in cooperative work, improvisation, and experimentation – both digitally and on-site.

Please note:
Due to the current highly dynamic Covid-19 situation, we reserve the right to award residencies conditionally and make adjustments to the terms of residencies in consultation with the applicants if necessary. Current information on the situation at the place of residence can be found in the travel and security information of the German Federal Foreign Office.

Musicboard’s Contributions
Musicboard covers the costs associated with the stay. This includes round-trip travel costs as well as food, accommodation, working/rehearsal space, and project-related costs when applicable.

Application
The application deadline for the Scholarships & Residencies programme is March 1, 2021. All application-related information and the link to the online form can be found here.

Musicboard Alumni Kampala
DJ Scotch Egg – 2019

Contact
We’re happy to answer questions via email or telephone. Since we are mostly working in the home office at the moment, we kindly ask you to pose short, simple questions via email and send Maureen Noe a callback number if you would like to request a phone consultation:

E-Mail: maureen.noe@musicboard.berlin.de
Tel.: +49 (0)30 288 787 88

Nyege Nyege Studios, Kampala, Uganda

In Kooperation mit dem CTM Festival und Nyege Nyege vergibt das Musicboard eine hybride Auslandsresidenz in Kampala, Uganda, an eine:n Berliner Popmusiker:in.


Voraussetzungen
Solokünstler:in mit Wohnort und Schaffensmittelpunkt in Berlin. Es können sich Popmusiker:innen aller Genres bewerben, jedoch eignet sich die Residenz besonders für Musiker:innen aus dem elektronischen-, Club- und experimentellen Bereich. Musiker:innen, die sich für diese Residenz bewerben möchten, sollten über ein hohes Maß an Selbstständigkeit und Eigeninitiative verfügen sowie aufgeschlossen für interdisziplinären Austausch und digitale Kollaborationen sein.

Zeitlicher Rahmen
Für die Residenz ist ein hybrides Format vorgesehen. Der Aufenthalt in Kampala beträgt bis zu zwei Monate zwischen Juli und September 2021. Diesem geht im Vorfeld ein digitaler Austausch voraus. Der genaue Zeitraum wird in Absprache mit den Kooperationspartner:innen sowie dem:der ausgewählten Künstler:in festgelegt.


Foto: Nyege Nyege

Über die Projektpartner
Das Berliner CTM Festival for Adventurous Music and Art und die ostafrikanische Nyege Nyege Plattform sind beide Partner des internationalen Netzwerks ICAS – International Cities of Advanced Sound. Die Zusammenarbeit beider Partner wurde 2018 begründet, als CTM eine Vielzahl von Musiker:innen aus dem Umfeld von Nyege Nyege auf dem CTM Festival in Berlin präsentierte. Die Residenz-Kooperation mit dem Musicboard besteht seit 2019, 2020 wurde die Vergabe ausgesetzt.

Nyege Nyege ist ein vier-tägiges Musikfestival, das am ersten Septemberwochenende in Jinja, Uganda, an der Quelle des Nils stattfindet. Seit 2015 präsentiert das Festival Entwicklungen in der afrikanischen Underground Musikszene sowie internationale Musiker:innen und ist mit sieben unterschiedlichen Bühnen für ca. 8.000 Besucher:innen pro Tag das größte Musikfestival im ostafrikanischen Raum. Neben dem Festival veranstaltet Nyege Nyege ein einjähriges Künstler:innen-Residenzprogramm mit Community-Studios, Workshops und Weiterbildungsabgeboten in Kampala und Gulu, Uganda sowie Dar-es-Salam, Tansania. Im Rahmen seines Residenzprogramms bietet Nyege Nyege eine sichere und kreative Umgebung für ostafrikanische Musiker:innen. Ein Teil der dort entstehenden Musik wird auf zwei eigenen Labels, Nyege Nyege Tapes und Hakuna Kulala, veröffentlicht. Aufgrund der Pandemie präsentierte Nyege Nyege im Jahr 2020 eine hybride Version des Festivals mit Kunstkollektiven aus dem gesamten Kontinent und der Diaspora, die sich zu einer dauerhaften Plattform für künstlerische Inhalte entwickelte, welche auf der Nyege Nyege-Webseite gehostet wird.

Besonderheiten
2021 hat die Residenz-Kooperation zwischen dem Musicboard, Nyege Nyege und dem CTM Festival ein hybrides Format: Die Residenz beginnt mit einem digitalen Austausch, der in eine physische Residenz vor Ort in Kampala übergeht. Sollte Reisen aufgrund der sich dynamisch entwickelnden Covid-19-Situation nicht möglich sein, wird die Residenz als digitale Kollaboration fortgesetzt.

Der Residenzort befindet sich in einem grünen Vorort von Kampala namens Kawuku. Als Initiative der Boutiq Foundation betreibt Nyege Nyege dort ein großes Residenzhaus, das fünf Minuten vom Victoriasee entfernt liegt und in dem bis zu zehn Musiker:innen gleichzeitig untergebracht werden können. Es verfügt über eine große Küche zum gemeinsamen Kochen sowie zwei eigene Aufnahmestudios. Die Idee des Residenzhauses ist es, Austausch und außergewöhnliche Kollaborationen zwischen Musiker:innen aus Ostafrika und Berliner Musiker:innen zu fördern. In diesem Sinne ist die Residenz an eine Kooperation zwischen dem:der Berliner Resident:in und dem:der lokale:n Musiker:in gebunden. Die Ergebnisse dieser Kollaboration sollen als Abschluss der Residenz auf dem Nyege Nyege Festival 2021 präsentiert werden, live oder digital. Es besteht zudem die Möglichkeit, dass entstandene Produktionen beim CTM Festival 2022 in Berlin präsentiert werden.

Diese Residenz eignet sich besonders für Musiker:innen, die Freude an kollaborativer Arbeit, an Improvisation und am Experimentieren haben – sowohl vor Ort als auch digital.

Hinweis:
Aufgrund der gegenwärtig dynamischen Covid-19-Lage behalten wir uns vor, die Residenzen unter Vorbehalt zu vergeben und die Bedingungen einer Residenz in Rücksprache mit den Bewerber:innen gegebenenfalls anzupassen. Aktuelle Informationen zur Lage am Residenzort können den Reise- und Sicherheitshinweisen des Auswärtigen Amtes entnommen werden.

Leistungen des Musicboards
Das Musicboard übernimmt die Kosten des Auslandsaufenthalts. Das beinhaltet sowohl die Reisekosten (An- und Abreise) als auch Verpflegung, Unterkunft und Arbeits- oder Proberaum sowie gegebenenfalls ein Projektgeld.

Bewerbung
Die Bewerbungsfrist für das Programm Stipendien & Residenzen ist der 1. März 2021. Alle Informationen zur Bewerbung und den Link zum Online-Antrag gibt es hier.

Musicboard Alumni Kampala
DJ Scotch Egg – 2019

Kontakt
Gerne stehen wir euch bei Fragen zur Antragsstellung per E-Mail oder telefonisch zur Verfügung. Da wir derzeit überwiegend im Home Office sind bitten wir euch, einfache, kurze Fragen per E-Mail zu stellen und Maureen Noe bei Wunsch nach einer telefonischen Beratung eine Rückrufnummer zuzuschicken:

E-Mail: maureen.noe@musicboard.berlin.de
Tel.: +49 (0)30 288 787 88